I write science fiction, adventure and speculative fiction. Some of my favorite reviews compare my books to Heinlein, which I really appreciate. I grew up reading Heinlein, Philip K. Dick and Silverberg. There are influences from each of them in the stories that I create. I orchestrate complex sequences of events that draw characters together. The books are adventure and action-oriented, but each one has underlying themes, like the relationship between parent and child in the THE LOST COVE SERIES and the detective thriller LIFEFLASH.


The settings for Tom Deaderick’s unique and original science-fiction novels will be familiar to Eastern Tennesseans. Deaderick grew up reading Stephen King’s novels, set in the fictional town of Castle Rock, Maine, and has set THE LOST COVE SERIES in the Appalachian Trail mountains, the community of Bumpas Cove and the town of Erwin, Tennessee.

Readers of the series, especially those who enjoy the region’s hiking trails, can locate many points of interest from the books and hike to see the locations that caught the author’s eye.

There are currently four novels in the series.

The first book of the series is set in the Lost Cove, one of the region’s most interesting and enduring historic sites. According to a comprehensive thesis by Christy A. Smith, the Lost Cove settlement was established during the Civil War. Despite there being no roads into the Lost Cove settlement, it grew to include a church, a schoolhouse and a lumbermill and was home to more than a dozen families.

FLIGHTSUIT also introduces readers to Bumpas Cove, Tennessee, with its history of ecological abuse, iron mines and its present-day riverside beauty.

The second book’s settings range from Bumpas Cove to the Grand Canyon, with a climactic battle in Area 51. It is in this book that the author establishes Erwin, Tennessee as the successor to Roswell, New Mexico as the site of alien artifacts.

The third book introduces new characters and a powerful relic discovered off the Appalachian Trail’s Cliff Ridge, near Uncle Johnny’s Nolichucky Hostel. This book sets in motion events that reach a climax in the series’ next book.

The fourth book, published in 2019, is a science-fiction horror, with monstrous aliens rising from the mountains surrounding Erwin, Tennessee. Erwin is quarantined and the book’s characters are trapped. The aliens are rapidly transforming the town into an army of horrific creatures. To survive, the heroes must hike out, on the AT, at night, under skies filled with giant bat-like creatures.

Meet Jon Falvo’s eyes,
and he knows everything about you,
and you have a day to live.

THE LOST COVE SERIES and LIFEFLASH are NO LONGER available on Amazon. I will not support fascist CENSORS.

 © 2020, Tom Deaderick

  • parler logo